Want to Learn More About Your First Visit?

Get Started

Students, Faculty Represent Logan in Washington, D.C.

At Logan, education happens both in the classroom and around the world.

Earlier this month, 20 students, led by Professor Patrick Montgomery, DC, MS, FASA, FICC, and Director of Assessment and Accreditation Kristina Petrocco-Napuli, DC, MS, FICC, FACC, had the opportunity to head to Washington, D.C.

The group attended the American Chiropractic Association’s National Conference and lobbied for H.B. 3654, a bipartisan bill that, if passed, would offer complete chiropractic coverage in Medicare. Over the course of their stay, students met with ACA Missouri Representatives, as well as Congressional Representatives and Senators from other states, and learned to use their voice to be advocates for the chiropractic profession.

“I believe that it is important to get our students involved from the very start in advocacy for the chiropractic profession and the patients we serve,” said Dr. Montgomery. “This is a spring board in helping train our students to be leaders in our field and in their communities.”

Dr. Petrocco-Napuli said that while lobbying, students not only learn the political impacts on practice and patient care, but also how to reform their communication skills and work collaboratively as a team to lead change.

“This is by far one of the best experiences for a student and one that is very important to our profession,” she said. “Student involvement on a national level is critical for supporting positive change for the future of the profession and long-term impact on chiropractic patients. This opportunity gives students a chance to meet many practitioners who have been leaders in our profession and work collaboratively together to advance the profession.”

Dr. Montgomery noted that many Logan alumni who started attending ACA National as students are now ACA Delegates from their respective states, such as Dr. Holly Tucker (Alternate) from Tennessee, Dr. Kate Baker from Kentucky, Dr. Michael Pridham from New Mexico, Dr. James Lehman from Connecticut, Dr. Michael Jacklitch from Florida, Dr. Anthony Wolf from Indiana, Dr. Margaret Friehau from Missouri, and Michael Taylor from Oklahoma.

Additionally, the ACA Board of Governors includes Logan alumnus Dr. Kathy Boulet of Maine and Logan Board of Trustee Emeritus, the Hon. Steve C. Roberts, JD, LLM of Missouri.